Barn Quilts of Grundy County, Iowa


MORE Barn Quilts in Grundy County!
October 14, 2008, 7:18 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized
Geez, I am starting to have a hard time keeping track of all the Barn Quilts we have in Grundy County.  We are now up to 55 quilt blocks sprinkled around the countryside.  Today, Tuesday, Oct. 14, with the gracious help of Alliant Energy, we mounted two more blocks just north of Wellsburg.  It was freezing, but we toughed it out and the fall scenery and skies are great backdrops for these gorgeous blocks.   
Lindaman – “Fox & Geese” north of Wellsburg

Abbas - "Prairie Flower" north of Wellsburg

Two more blocks have been up for a couple of weeks to a month, but I haven’t had a chance to get pictures and show them off yet.  So here are a couple more new blocks!  The block titled “Kentucky Chain” popped up out of nowhere one day.  My co-worker explained to me that she found a quilt block she’s never seen and wondered if I knew about it.  Well, I didn’t.  So I quickly figured out where the location was and called the owners.  They had plans of calling me to tell me they went a head and painted a block, just hadn’t gotten around to calling me.  They did, however, explain that they wanted to be part of the Barn Quilt Project, just went ahead and made their own.  That is fine with me.  It looks great and is in a perfect location!

Janssen - "Kentucky Chain" rural Holland

The next block is too pretty to describe.  You just have to drive by and see the acreage and blocks.  It is just like looking at a postcard.  The owners decided to put two identical blocks on the side of their building to make a great impact.  The blocks are smaller in size, probably 6’x6′, because of the smaller area between the barn’s windows but seeing as how there are two blocks, size wasn’t a problem. 

Johnson-Welter - "Prairie Queen" rural Cedar Falls

 If you would like a current map of locations, please email barnquilts@gcmuni.net or call our office at (319) 825-3606 for more information. 

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for sharing, and keeping us posted. I would love for you to send me a photo that I could use, or maybe you could share at: http://barnquilting.ning.com/

Comment by Bruce




Leave a Reply

